Lilght ALone

After the tempest dies,

fighting the suction of my dreams,

my passions and furious longings

that will pull me down to death

if they can never be realized–

more accurately, my attachment

to these things, to living fully in love.

When finally it subsides

back to the cave it came from,

I am left with a stunning peace,

sitting at a stoplight it washes through me,

suddenly content to feel this cold air,

see this bright snow,

watch this indigo ocean as it moves.

I will not get what I crave

and yet to be happy,

to give and serve without strings,

laugh and play in my empty void,

find a common ground with everyone I see.

If growth is best had through hardship

then this field is rich.

Leave a Reply

