Pristine

A great gift came to me

wrapped in loss, in grief, in uncertainty.

It was pure and bright;

breathtaking, heroic and true,

yet when all day long

I dared take a peek

I saw the wrapping negate its brilliance,

leave me with a tortured longing

that was larger than my life.

No more.

Today I behold this phenomenal gift,

thunderous of power, yet gentle as a flower,

as mine.

I’ve waited a lifetime

for it to warm and illumine me,

bring me comfort when I’m cold.

Beautiful wonder of life,

this is what I see.

Gwendalyn Gilliam, Incline Village, March 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

